Skip directly to: Main page content

Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi

Chancellor's Colloquium Distinguished Speaker Series 2015-16

Great universities are characterized by the many contributions they make to the societies they serve. At UC Davis, those include a regular influx of outstanding thinkers and leaders from a variety of disciplines who will challenge us to see the world in new and creative ways.

We started the Chancellor's Colloquium Distinguished Speaker Series in 2009-2010 to stimulate and engage our campus in constructive conversations about how best to serve a rapidly changing world searching for solutions to complex problems. Sometimes uncomfortable, always thought-provoking, our Colloquium events have been a tremendous source of enrichment to the intellectual life of our campus.  

Now, as we continue to reshape UC Davis as the University of the 21st Century, please join me in welcoming another outstanding and diverse group of scholars to our campus.  As in past Colloquium seasons, these innovative leaders are sure to inspire us to dig more deeply into who we are and find new ways to take advantage of the many opportunities that exist to elevate both our campus community and the world.

These events are free and open to the public. Here are the planned speakers for the 2015-16 series, with more information to follow:

Mamphela Aletta Ramphele (9.28.15)

Dr. Mamphela Aletta Ramphele has been a student activist, medical doctor,  community development activist,  researcher,  university executive,  global public servant and is now an active citizen in both the public and private sectors. Following the Soweto uprising in 1976, she was detained without trial, released after five months and soon afterwards served with an apartheid banning order. She studied Medicine at the then University of Natal, has a B Comm degree, a Diploma in Tropical Hygiene, a Diploma in Public Health and a PhD in Social Anthropology. She went on to become Vice-Chancellor of UCT, then one of four Managing Directors of the World Bank, based in Washington, DC. Dr Ramphele is the author of several books and publications on socio-economic issues in South Africa. She has received numerous national and international awards acknowledging her scholarship and leading role in spearheading projects for disadvantaged people in South Africa and elsewhere. Monday, September 28, 2015 at 4 p.m. Mondavi Center Studio Theatre.

Gene E. Robinson (2.22.16)

Gene E. Robinson obtained his Ph.D. from Cornell University in 1986 and joined the faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1989. He holds a University Swanlund Chair and is also the director of the Institute for Genomic Biology (IGB) and director of the Bee Research Facility. He is the author or co-author of over 275 publications and pioneered the application of genomics to the study of social behavior, led the effort to gain approval from the National Institutes of Health for sequencing the honey bee genome, and founded the Honey Bee Genome Sequencing Consortium.  Monday, February 22, 2016 at 4 p.m. Mondavi Center Studio Theatre.